As of Monday, July 20, 2020, the Washington State Archives branches in Olympia and Ellensburg are open to researchers by appointment only. For more information, please visit our page regarding the closure.

Washington State Historical Records Advisory Board Members

Chairman of WSHRAB

Steve Excell
State Archivist
Office # 360-586-2664
[email protected]


Members of WSHRAB

Joseph S. Kalama
Nisqually Tribe
Office # 360-456-5221, x1139
[email protected]
Candace Lein-Hayes
Office # 206-336-5142
[email protected]

Toby Nixon
Washington Council on Open Government
Office # 425-706-2792
[email protected]

Charles Payton
Office # 206-789-0467
[email protected]

Carla Rickerson
Special Collections
University of Washington Libraries
Office # 206-543-1929 x 6
[email protected]

J. William T. Youngs, Chair
Department of History
Eastern Washington University
Office # 509-359-6944
[email protected]


WSHRAB Coordinator

Maggie Cogswell
WSHRAB Coordinator
Washington State Archives
Office # 360-586-4898
[email protected]