Archive Repositories

The State Archives preserves the documentary heritage of both state and local governments throughout Washington.

State Government Archives

Historical records of state government are collected, preserved, and made available at the State Government Archives in Olympia.  These records document the functions of all branches of state government from the territorial period to the present.  For more information, click here.

Local Government Archives

Historical records of local governments are collected, preserved, and made available at five regional branch archives.  These records document county and city governments, special districts, and other local or regional state entities.  The regional branch research facilities are located in Bellevue, Bellingham, Cheney, Ellensburg, and Olympia.  

  • Digital Archives
  • Northwest Region
    Clallam, Island, Jefferson, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, and Whatcom Counties
  • Southwest Region
    Clark, Cowlitz, Grays Harbor, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Skamania, Thurston, and Wahkiakum Counties
  • Central Region
    Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Franklin, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Okanogan, and Yakima Counties
  • Eastern Region
    Adams, Asotin, Columbia, Ferry, Garfield, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, Walla Walla, and Whitman Counties
  • Puget Sound Region
    King, Kitsap, and Pierce Counties