### **Elections Division**

# **Voter Registration and Ballot Declarations**

Elections Clearinghouse Notice Issue #25-03 June 26, 2025

This notice reflects amendments in WAC 434-324-087 and replaces Clearinghouse Notice #25-01 issued January 7, 2025.

## **Voter Registration Oath**

RCW 29A.08.230 requires that voter registration applicants sign an oath. The 3/15/2024 Consent Decree entered in *Washington State Alliance for Retired Americans v. Hobbs, et al.*, W.D.WA. Case No. 3:23-CV-06014-TMC, mandated changes to the declaration that voter registration applicants must sign. The new declaration states:

"I declare that the facts on this voter registration form are true. I am a citizen of the United States, I am a Washington state resident, and I am at least sixteen years old. I am not disqualified from voting due to a court order, and I am not currently serving a sentence of total confinement under the jurisdiction of the department of corrections for a Washington felony conviction, and I am not currently incarcerated for a federal or out-of-state felony conviction."

This declaration must be used in the following documents:

- Signature Update Form/Mismatched Signature Cure Form
- Verification Notice

County Auditors and the Office of the Secretary of State will accept and process older versions of registration forms and notices submitted by voters.

#### **Ballot Declaration**

Persons who are 17 years old at that date of the primary and 18 years old by the date of the subsequent general election may register and cast a ballot in a primary. (RCW 29A.08.170; WAC 434-230-015(3)(c), 434-232-010(5))

Persons who are not serving a sentence of total confinement under the jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections or otherwise incarcerated for a felony conviction in federal or another state court may register and cast a ballot in any election. (RCW 29A.08.520(1))

### **Elections Division**

The ballot declaration is prescribed in <u>WAC 434-230-015(3)(c)</u>. The following declaration must accompany the ballot and be signed by voters for all primaries and elections:

"I do solemnly swear or affirm under penalty of perjury that I am:

A United States citizen:

A Washington state resident;

At least 18 years old on election day, or 17 years old at the primary and 18 years old by the day of the November general election;

Voting only once in this election and not voting in any other United States jurisdiction;

Not serving a sentence of total confinement under the jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections for a Washington felony conviction or currently incarcerated for a federal or out-of-state felony conviction;

Not disqualified from voting due to a court order;

Aware it is illegal to forge a signature or cast another person's ballot and that attempting to vote when not qualified, attempting to vote more than once, or falsely signing this declaration is a felony punishable by a maximum imprisonment of five years, a maximum fine of \$10,000, or both; and Aware that the signature on this declaration will be compared to the signature(s) in the voter's registration file."

The declaration must accompany every type of ballot issued to voters, to include:

- Regular mail ballots
- Overseas and service (UOCAVA) mail ballots
- Provisional ballots
- Special absentee ballots
- Ballots delivered electronically
- Ballots issued to Address Confidentiality Program (ACP) participants
- Replacement and reissued ballots

In addition to all ballot packets, the ballot declaration must be used on the following documents:

- Signature Update Form/Mismatched Signature Cure Form
- Missing Signature Form/Unsigned Ballot Declaration Cure Form
- Missing Signature/Party Choice Presidential Primary Cure Form

Updated forms are available from the Office of the Secretary of State's website.