The Productivity Board was suspended by the Legislature in 2011 and hasn’t been reinstated. The information presented here is for reference only. State employees are encouraged to contact their legislators to request reinstatement.

Extra Mile Award

The Extra Mile Award is given out each year to individuals or groups of public employees who surpass expectation for exemplary service.

Nearly a hundred nominations were cast for employees around the state who went above and beyond the call of duty, coming from co-workers, managers and even the general public.

The winners were recognized at numerous ceremonies across the state and included:

  • Guy Gifford - Department of Natural Resources
  • Ted Smith - Department of Natural Resources 
  • Steve Officer - Department of Health 
  • Mary Roberts - Department of Health 
  • Terrie Garcia-Hernandez - Employment Security Department
  • Gene Drewry - Employment Security Department
  • Debbie Himes - Employment Security Department
  • Joe Hostetler - Employment Security Department
  • Jennier Cervantes and Diane Tanner - Department of Labor and Industries
  • Rebecca Connolly - Recreation and Conservation Office
  • South West Region Bridge Crew - Department of Transportation
  • Andrew Lentz - Department of Transportation
  • Mark Nitchman, John Tullis & Bill Chapple - Department of Transportation
  • Harpreet "Sandy" Sandhu & Brian Gladden - Department of Transportation
  • Joanna Jones - Department of Transportation
  • Materials Management Team - Department of Transportation
  • Zack Holt - Department of Transportation
  • Each of these employees displayed great initiative, ingenuity, and commitment to the state of Washington. PSRW is just one way to honor their efforts.

    To find out more about Public Service Recognition Week, visit