Teen Video Challenge

<< Return to Summer Reading home

Create a video promoting summer reading at the public library. Include your interpretation of the 2015 Collaborative Summer Library Program teen slogan, Unmask, and you could win $150 for yourself and a $50 award for your library.

One winning video created by a teen or group of teens will be selected as the Washington winner in the national Collaborative Summer Library Program (CSLP) Teen Video Challenge. All state winning videos will be official 2015 CSLP promotional videos and will be viewed nationwide.

Any Washington teen or group of teens ages 13-18 may enter.

How to participate

  1. Download and complete the Washington Entry Form Adobe Reader - Click to Download. Read all instructions provided on the entry form.
  2. Download and complete the Model Release Form Adobe Reader - Click to Download. Anyone may appear in your video (it does not have to be teens only), but every person appearing in your video must have a completed release.
  3. Explore the CSLP Resources for Video Creation page for additional ideas and information.
  4. Create a 30-90 second video that encourages teens to read and use libraries this summer. Include your interpretation of the 2015 CSLP teen slogan "Unmask."
  5. Title your video: "2015 TVC - WA - Unique Name." Please choose a unique name that does not include your real name (example: 2015 TVC - WA - J. Smith-Krpton123)
  6. Upload your video to YouTube.com or Vimeo.com. Please include closed-captioning if your video includes words in the audio.
  7. By March 7, 2015, mail, email, or fax your completed forms using the subject "2015 TVC" to:
    2015 Teen Video Challenge
    Washington State Library
    6880 Capital Blvd S
    PO Box 42460
    Olympia, WA 98504
    email: nono.burling@sos.wa.gov
    fax: 360.586.7575

What’s at stake?

CSLP will award $150 to one Washington Teen Video Challenge winning team. The library listed on the entry form will receive $50 from CSLP and Demco/Upstart. The winner will be notified in the spring of 2015.

If your video is chosen as the winner, you will be contacted by the Washington State Library's Teen Video Challenge representative.

All the state winning videos will be posted on the 2015 Winners page of the CSLP website and will be available for libraries in Washington and all around the USA to use to promote the 2015 Summer Reading Program.

The Washington winner and all notable Washington videos will be available on the Washington Summer Reading Program page.

The fine print

Complete rules and eligibility requirements can be found on the CSLP 2015 Teen Video Challenge website.

Librarians: The Teen Video Challenge is a CSLP-sponsored competition for teens to create videos that promote reading, libraries, and the 2015 CSLP theme, Unmask. Check out the CSLP Teen Video Challenge page for more details on the contest.

Feedback We encourage your feedback. If you have comments or suggestions, please use our feedback form.

Funded in part by the Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS) through the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA).