Corporations for Communities

About | Nomination Criteria | Online Nomination Form | Printable Nomination Form | Submit a photo

corps for communities

Nominations now open for Washington’s 2018 Corporations for Communities awards

Many Washington businesses go to remarkable lengths to support their hometowns, from sponsoring charity fundraisers to supporting volunteer work and other acts of employee generosity. Secretary of State Kim Wyman wants to give them special recognition.

Nominations can now be submitted for the Office of Secretary of State’s 2018 Corporations for Communities awards for for-profit companies that perform extraordinary charitable acts in the communities they serve.

Wyman will present the Medallion Award of the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) to up to five select businesses nominated by the public via the annual Corporations for Communities program.

“We have so many Washington companies that give back in great and admirable ways,” Wyman said. “Corporations for Communities offers a terrific opportunity for people to help us recognize these companies that contribute to local causes. I encourage Washingtonians to make a nomination this summer.”

Nominations for this year’s award begin July 16 and must be submitted by August 31.
Nominations can be submitted online or by mail using forms on the Secretary of State’s website at

Any Washingtonian can nominate a business for the Corporations for Communities awards. For-profit corporations, limited liability companies (LLC), and limited partnerships of any size are eligible. Nominees need to be registered with the Office of the Secretary of State and must be in compliance with state and federal laws.

In 2017, NASS Medallion Awards were presented to Brighton Jones LLC of Seattle, CFO Selections LLC of Bellevue, Kelleher Motor Company of Ellensburg, Olympia Federal Savings & Loan Association, and Shree Investments Inc. of George.

Nominations included charitable activities such as paid time for employee volunteer work, sponsoring and organizing fundraisers, matching of employee giving efforts, making cash and in-kind donations, and building a community of giving within their organizations.