Continuing Education Grant Reimbursements Instructions

The Continuing Education (CE) Grant Program is structured to allow federal Library Service and
Technology Act (LSTA) funds to be used in combination with funds either provided by you, your
institution, or others as outlined in the application, to defray expenses incurred as a result of
attending training or other continuing education event. Only expenses allowable by state travel
regulations can be considered either for matching or for reimbursement; a copy of these can be
found at http://www.ofm.wa.gov/policy/10.htm

To be reimbursed for your CE grant expenses, you must submit your claim form (both hard copy
and electronic), narrative report, and your expenditure documentation (described below) to WSL
for review and approval within 60 days of completion (this date is listed both on your award
letter and claim form). Extensions are not granted automatically; you must request one. If
you have questions, concerns, or need an extension or another electronic form, please contact
Leanna Hammond at 360.704.7133 or leanna.hammond@so0s.wa.gov .

Step 1— Email the electronic claim form and narrative report to leanna.hammond@sos.wa.gov.
Step 2— Mail the claim form with original signatures and all required documentation to

WSL, CE Grant Program

PO Box 42460

Olympia, WA 98504-2460.
Please keep copies of all materials for your records.

|. Washington State Library’s Continuing Education (CE) Grant Claim form

a. Grantee information and CE grant/event information
Information from your original CE Grant application is reflected; please make
corrections to the grantee information if your contact information is incorrect or has
changed.

b. Original budget (un-shaded area)

1. Please review the budget information, as it was approved by the State Library
before your event. If you have questions about differences between the budget
figures on your CE grant application and the budget reflected on your claim form,
contact WSL immediately upon receipt of your award letter. Substantial changes
may not be possible if your event date is imminent.

2. Your CE Grant Award amount is 75% (or less) of your total approved budget, but
not more than $750 per event (for individuals) or $3,000 (for organizations).

c. Actual expenditures (shaded area)
After your CE event, complete this area to reflect the real costs incurred in the
course of your CE event. Documentation must be provided to substantiate all
funds reflected on the claim; please do not round. Specific documentation
required for each type of expense is described below.

d. Signature area
An original (not photocopied or facsimile) signature is required for both the
grantee/claimant and supervisor/director. The supervisor/director should be the same
person that was indicated as your sponsor on your grant application. Additionally,
please print their name in the space provided.
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II. Documentation to support (actual) expenditures claimed (for both match
and LSTA grant) Receipts must be provided for all expenses.

a. Travel

1. Mileage (The ‘Mileage’ section must be completed if you drove your personal
vehicle.)

- Mileage is reimbursed to driver only, not passengers or carpoolers, and only
if a personal vehicle is used.

- Mileage is reimbursed at the rate allowable by Washington State, currently
$0.565/mile; fuel receipts are not needed.

- Sign the statement indicating you drove your personal vehicle (found on page
2 of the claim form, under the ‘Mileage’ section).

- Include a printed, mapped route from your starting and ending locations (from
MapQuest, Yahoo Maps, Streets & Trips, etc.) with the number of miles
driven indicated. Please note if you made multiple round-trips.

- Indicate the total number of miles driven and complete the calculation.

2. Agency vehicle

— Mileage is reimbursed at the “per mile rate” of the State Fleet Vehicle Short-
Term Rental Rates found at
https://fortress.wa.gov/ga/apps/MPWeb/ShortTermRentalRates.aspx — Fuel
receipts are not needed.

- Provide a printed, mapped route from your starting and ending locations
(from MapQuest, Yahoo Maps, Streets & Trips, etc.) with the number of miles
driven indicated. Please note if you made multiple round-trips.

- Indicate the total number of miles driven, specify the type of agency vehicle
driven (based on above chart. and complete the calculation.

3. Rental car
Provide receipts from your rental car company that show the number of days for
the rental and final amount paid, plus fuel receipts.

4. Motor Pool vehicle
Provide documentation for the cost incurred for your use of the motor pool
vehicle.

5. Plane/train/bus/ferry
Receipt from travel provider (airline, travel agent, etc.) indicating total amount
paid and reflecting a zero balance. If receipt does not reflect zero balance,
additional documentation to prove payment will be necessary (copy of a credit
card or bank statement — please highlight the appropriate line and white out
your account number). This document should include your itinerary.

6. Taxis, vans, etc.
Receipt from travel provider.

7. Parking
Receipt from provider. For hotel parking, itemized hotel receipt is sufficient.

b. Lodging

1. You must live more than 50 miles from the event to qualify for lodging
reimbursement.
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Provide itemized receipt from hotel indicating zero balance. If receipt does not
reflect zero balance, proof of payment is also required (copy of a credit card or
bank statement — please highlight the appropriate line and cross out your
account number).

Items not allowable for reimbursement include in-room movies/games, mini-bar
items, room service, safe, etc. Parking should be reported under Travel, even if
it appears on the lodging receipt.

Lodging rates (before taxes) cannot exceed: a) the federal per diem rates for the
event location; or b) the conference rate (maximum of 25% over per diem rates).
When making reservations, request either the government rate or the
conference rate. Identify which rate you paid on the claim form.

If you shared a room with other attendees, state so and then include only your
share of the costs. If you shared a room with a non-attendee such as a family
member, claim only what it would have cost if you were by yourself.

Registration fees

1.

Itemized registration receipt or registration form and proof of payment are
required.

LSTA funds can NOT be used to pay for meals; social activities; professional
membership dues; or toward any additional fees incurred in the pursuit of a
degree or certificate (clock hours or credits);

Substitute librarians

Provide proof of payment for a substitute (show amount paid, date paid, warrant #
or if by electronic transfer). A hardship waiver is required upon application in order
for substitute time to be reimbursed.

Required workbooks or textbooks for training
Provide itemized receipt with proof of payment.

lll. CE Event Evaluation (Narrative Report)
Provide answers for all questions on the claim form and submit as instructed on the

form.
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