# **Voter Registration Laws**





# Secretary of State Kim Wyman

## Same-day Registration

- Voter registration laws give Washington state voters more time to register or update their address information.
- Until 8 days before Election Day, citizens can register by mail or <u>online</u>. The application must be received by the elections office no later than 8 days before Election Day.
- Anytime on or before Election Day, citizens can register or update their address information in person at a local voting center or county elections department up until 8 p.m. on Election Day.
- Citizens can check registration status at <u>votewa.gov</u>.

### **Automatic Voter Registration**

- When applying for an Enhanced Washington Driver's License or Identification Card, applicants will be automatically registered to vote unless they choose to opt out of voter registration.
- When conducting business with certain state agencies that verify citizenship and collect a signature as part of their services, state residents will be automatically registered to vote. They may choose to opt out of voter registration.
- When applying to the <u>Washington Health Benefit Exchange</u>, applicants will be offered the opportunity to register to vote. If accepted, the application form will pre-populate with information already provided by the applicant, eliminating any need to reenter information.

### Be a **#FutureVoter**

- Starting in July 2019, 16- and 17-year-old citizens can enroll as a <u>Future Voter</u> when obtaining a Washington driver's license or state ID card and be automatically registered to vote when they turn 18.
- 16- and 17-year-old citizens who already have a driver's license can sign up to be a #FutureVoter at <u>votewa.gov</u>.
- On Temperance and Good Citizenship Day each January, students will have an opportunity to enroll as a #FutureVoter in class. They can also volunteer to help sign up other Future Voters.