

Using Records Retention Schedules: How Long Do Police Drone Recordings Need to Be Kept?

Purpose: Provide guidance to local government law enforcement agencies on how long recordings from police drones need to be retained.

The minimum retention periods for recordings from drones for County Sheriffs and Police Departments are listed in the *Law Enforcement Records Retention Schedule* approved by the Local Records Committee in accordance with RCW 40.14.070.

Incident Identified – Until Matter Resolved and Exhaustion of Appeals Process

DISPOSITION AUTHORITY NUMBER (DAN)	DESCRIPTION OF RECORDS	RETENTION AND DISPOSITION ACTION	DESIGNATION
LE09-01-08 Rev. 3	Recordings from Mobile Devices – Incident Identified Recordings, created by the law enforcement agency using mobile recording devices , and whether manually or automatically triggered, that are <i>known</i> to have captured a unique or unusual action from which litigation or criminal prosecution is expected or likely to result.	Retain until matter resolved and until exhaustion of appeals process then Destroy.	NON-ARCHIVAL NON-ESSENTIAL OFM
	 Includes all mobile recordings, regardless of where recording device is mounted, such as: Bodycam (device on officer's chest, shoulder, head, cap, sunglasses, pole/stick, etc.); Dashcam (or any other device mounted on the inside or outside of the vehicle – car, motorcycle, boat, all terrain vehicle (ATV), bike, scooter, etc.); Dogcam (on an animal's body - canine, equine, etc.); Drone (unmanned aerial vehicle or any other remote controlled equipment). Excludes records covered by: Intercepted Communications/Conversations – Recorded (DAN LE2010-075); Recordings from Mobile Devices – Buffered Data/Images (DAN LE2017-001). 		

No Incident Identified – 90 days

DISPOSITION AUTHORITY NUMBER (DAN)	DESCRIPTION OF RECORDS	RETENTION AND DISPOSITION ACTION	DESIGNATION
LE09-01-09 Rev. 4	 Recordings from Mobile Devices – Incident Not Identified Recordings, created by the law enforcement agency using mobile recording devices (other than body worn cameras subject to RCW 42.56.240), and whether manually or automatically triggered, that are not known to have captured a unique or unusual incident or action from which litigation or criminal prosecution is expected or likely to result. Includes, but is not limited to mobile recordings such as: Bodycam (device on officer's chest, shoulder, head, cap, sunglasses, pole/stick, etc.) other than body worn cameras subject to RCW 42.56.240; Dashcam (or any other device mounted on the inside or outside of the vehicle – car, motorcycle, boat, all terrain vehicle (ATV), bike, scooter, etc.); Dogcam (on an animal's body – canine, equine, etc.); Drone (unmanned aerial vehicle or any other remote controlled equipment). Excludes records covered by: Intercepted Communications/Conversations – Recorded (DAN LE2010-075); Recordings from Mobile Devices – Buffered Data/Images (DAN LE2017-001); Recordings from Mobile Devices – Incident Identified (Body Worn Cameras Subject to RCW 42.56.240) (DAN LE2016-001). 	Retain for 90 days after date of recording <i>then</i> Destroy.	NON-ARCHIVAL NON-ESSENTIAL OFM

The Law Enforcement Records Retention Schedule is available from Washington State Archives' website.

Additional advice regarding the management of public records is available from Washington State Archives:

www.sos.wa.gov/archives recordsmanagement@sos.wa.gov