--ﬁ [ x“ég

OF wase

WASHINGTON
Secretary of State

Washington State Archives

Records Management Advice

Issued: February 2022
(Originally Issued: October 2015)

Using Records Retention Schedules:
How Long Do Police Body Cam Recordings Need to Be Kept?

Purpose: Provide guidance to law enforcement agencies on how long recordings from police

body cam

eras need to be retained.

The minimum retention periods for recordings from police body cameras are listed in the Law
Enforcement Records Retention Schedule:

Incident Identified — Until Matter Resolved and Exhaustion of Appeals Process

DISPOSITION
AUTHORITY DESCRIPTION OF RECORDS DI::;EE’T(I)?\INAI:Z"‘I"E)N DESIGNATION
NUMBER (DAN)
LE09-01-08 | Recordings from Mobile Devices — Incident Identified Retain until NON-ARCHIVAL
Rev. 3 Recordings, created by the law enforcement agency using mobile recording devices, and matter resolved NON"ZSFS;NT'AL
whether manually or automatically triggered, that are known to have captured a unique or and
unusual action from which litigation or criminal prosecution is expected or likely to result. until exhaustion
Includes all mobile recordings, regardless of where recording device is mounted, such as: of appeals
e Bodycam (device on officer’s chest, shoulder, head, cap, sunglasses, pole/stick, etc.); prtc;,cess
e Dashcam (or any other device mounted on the inside or outside of the vehicle — car, Des(terno
motorcycle, boat, all terrain vehicle (ATV), bike, scooter, etc.); Y-
e Dogcam (on an animal’s body - canine, equine, etc.);
e Drone (unmanned aerial vehicle or any other remote controlled equipment).
Excludes records covered by:
o [ntercepted Communications/Conversations — Recorded (DAN LE2010-075);
o Recordings from Mobile Devices — Buffered Data/Images (DAN LE2017-001).
No Incident Identified — 60 days
DISPOSITION
AUTHORITY DESCRIPTION OF RECORDS DI::;:"TT&NA‘;':EN DESIGNATION
NUMBER (DAN)
LE2016-001 | Recordings from Mobile Devices — Incident Not Identified (Body Worn Cameras) Retain for 60 NON-ARCHIVAL
Rev. 2 Recordings, created by the law enforcement agency using body worn cameras, provided that the | days after date NON'ESFS’;NT'AL
recording is not known to have captured a unique or unusual incident or action from which of recording
litigation or criminal prosecution is expected or likely to result. then
Excludes records covered by: Destroy.
o Intercepted Communications/Conversations — Recorded (DAN LE2010-075);
e Recordings from Mobile Devices — Buffered Data/Images (DAN LE2017-001);
e Recordings from Mobile Devices — Incident Identified (DAN LE09-01-08);
e Recordings from Mobile Devices — Incident Not Identified (DAN LE09-01-09);
Note: Retention based on 60-day requirement for certain body worn camera recordings (RCW
42.56.240).

The Law Enforcement Records Retention Schedule is available from Washington State Archives’

website.

Additional advice regarding the management of public records is available from

Washington State Archives:

www.sos.wa.gov/archives
recordsmanagement@sos.wa.gov




