Continuing Education Grant Reimbursements Instructions

The Continuing Education (CE) Grant Program is structured to allow federal Library Service and
Technology Act (LSTA) funds to be used in combination with funds either provided by you, your institution,
or others as outlined in the application, to defray expenses incurred as a result of attending training or other
continuing education event. Only expenses allowable by state travel regulations can be considered either
for matching or for reimbursement; a copy of these can be found at
http://www.ofm.wa.gov/policysc/10sc29.htm.

To be reimbursed for your CE grant expenses, you must submit your claim form, written report, and your
expenditure documentation (described below) to WSL for review and approval. Unless there are
extenuating circumstances, your claim must be received within 60 days of completion (or the next closest
business day) of the CE event to be eligible for reimbursement; this date is listed both on your award letter
and claim form. Extensions are not granted automatically; if you need an extension, you must
contact the CE Coordinator to request one. If you have questions or concerns, please contact Anne
Yarbrough (Grant and Contract Specialist) at 360-704-5246 or (e-mail) ayarbrough@secstate.wa.gov.

1. Washington State Library’s Continuing Education (CE) Grant Claim form

a. Grantee information and CE grant/event information
Information from your original CE Grant application is reflected; please make corrections to the
grantee information if your contact information is incorrect or has changed.

b. Original budget (un-shaded area)

1. Please review the budget information, as it was approved by the State Library before your
event. If you have questions about differences between the budget figures on your CE grant
application and the budget reflected on your claim form, contact Anne Yarbrough
immediately upon receipt of your award letter. Substantial changes may not be possible if
your event date is imminent.

2. Your CE Grant Award amount is 50% (or less) of your total approved budget, but not more
than $750 per event (for individuals) or $3,000 (for organizations).

c. Actual expenditures (shaded area)
After your CE event, complete this area to reflect the real costs incurred in the course of your
CE event. Documentation must be provided to substantiate all funds reflected on the
claim; please do not round. Specific documentation required for each type of expense is
described below.

d. Signature area
An original (not photocopied or facsimile) signature is required or both the grantee/claimant and
supervisor/director. The supervisor/director should be the same person that was indicated as
your sponsor on your grant application. Additionally, please print their name in the space
provided.

2. Documentation to support (actual) expenditures claimed (for both match and LSTA grant)
Receipts must be provided for all expenses.

a. Travel
1. Mileage (The ‘Mileage’ section must be completed if you drove a personal vehicle.)

- Mileage is reimbursed to driver only, not passengers or carpoolers, and only if a personal
vehicle is used.

- Mileage is reimbursed at the rate allowable by Washington State, currently $0.505/mile;
fuel receipts are not needed.

- Sign the statement indicating you drove your personal vehicle (found on page 2 of the
claim form, under the ‘Mileage’ section). Include a printed, mapped route from your
starting and ending locations (from MapQuest, Yahoo Maps, Streets & Trips, etc.) with
the number of miles driven indicated. Please note if you made multiple round-trips.

- Indicate the total number of miles driven and complete the calculation.
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2. Agency vehicle
Provide fuel receipts (not mileage).

3. Rental car
Provide receipts from your rental car company that show the number of days for the rental
and final amount paid, plus fuel receipts.

4. Motor Pool vehicle
Provide documentation for the cost incurred for your use of the motor pool vehicle.

5. Plane/train/bus/ferry
Receipt from travel provider (airline, travel agent, etc.) indicating total amount paid and
reflecting a zero balance. If receipt does not reflect zero balance, additional documentation
to prove payment will be necessary (copy of a credit card or bank statement— please
highlight the appropriate line and white out your account number). This document should
include your itinerary.

6. Taxis, vans, etc.
Receipt from travel provider.

7. Parking
Receipt from provider. For hotel parking, itemized hotel receipt is sufficient.

b. Lodging

1. Itemized receipt from hotel indicating zero balance. [f receipt does not reflect zero balance,
proof of payment is also required (copy of a credit card or bank statement — please highlight
the appropriate line and white out your account number).

2. Items that may not be included in this category include: in-room movies/games, mini-bar
items, room service, safe, etc. Parking should be reported under Travel, even if it appears
on the lodging receipt.

3. Lodging rates (before taxes) cannot exceed federal per diem rates for your event location;
please request a government rate, if applicable, when making reservations. For conferences
where special conference rates may be higher, the federal government allows for a 25%
increase over normal location rates. Identify which rate you paid on the claim form.

4. If you share a room with other attendees, state so and then include only your share of the
costs. If you share a room with a non-attendee such as a family member, claim only what it
would have cost if you were by yourself.

c. Conference meals
1. Only meals included with conference activities, i.e., speaker luncheons, may be claimed.
Use actual costs of meal event and provide documentation in the form of your itemized
conference registration.
2. Conferences or training where meals are included in the cost of the event and cannot be
separated from the conference registration fee should be included under ‘conference fees.’

d. Registration fees
1. Itemized conference or training event registration receipt and proof of payment is required.
2. LSTA funds cannot be used to pay for professional membership dues or toward any
additional fees incurred in the pursuit of a degree or certificate (clock hours or credits).

e. Substitute librarians
You must provide proof of payment for a substitute (show amount paid, date paid, warrant #
or if by electronic transfer).

f. Other
1. Itemize each item under a new line.
2. Example of “other”: purchase of course materials required for training.

3. CE Event Evaluation
Provide answers for all questions on the claim form. You may use additional sheets as necessary.
If you choose not to use the form provided, please include the following information at the top of your
narrative: grantee name, grant ID, CE event, and CE event.
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